The Australian Fashion Laureate Awards honour individuals that have made great contributions to the growth, development and global promotion of Australian fashion.

First launched in 2008 by IMG and previously called “The Australian Fashion Laureate”, the award has been given to designers Dion Lee, Toni Maticevski, Akira Isogawa and Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Australia founder, Simon Lock.

Hosted by supermodel Georgia Fowler (who recently walked the Victoria Secret runway) and comedian Ash Williams, the 2018 Australian Fashion Laureate saw the industry’s best and brightest gather to celebrate this esteemed event.

All the winners.

Celebrating outstanding contribution across established categories – Lifetime Achievement, Womenswear, Menswear, Retail, Emerging Designer, Accessories – the Australian Fashion Laureate also revealed two new categories for 2018, Model of the Year and Outstanding Editorial.

Vogue Australia editor in chief Edwina McCann was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award. McCann, who is also the editorial director of the Condé Nast titles at News Corp Australia, was appointed Vogue editor in chief in 2012, 20 years after she first joined the title as a fashion assistant, and after three years helming Harpers Bazaar Australia.


Australian Fashion Laureate Lifetime Achievement Award: Edwina McCann

Best Australian Womenswear: Romance Was Born

Best Australian Menswear: Song for the Mute

Best Australian Emerging Designer: Albus Lumen

Best Australian Retailer: Zimmermann

Best Australian Accessories Designer: Lucy Folk

Model of the Year: Adut Akech Bior

Outstanding Editorial: Georges Antoni

International Impact Honouree: Russell James

See more images of the winners in the gallery above.



The Last Fashion Bible is an interactive hub of fashion and lifestyle-related video content, featuring a mix of both international and local runway shows, editorials, interviews, how-tos and much more.

View all posts

Stay Ahead of the Trends

Receive the latest fashion, beauty and lifestyle updates from us.

You have Successfully Subscribed!